HOME  I  ABOUT US  I  FIND BOOKS  I  REFERENCE  I  ADULTS  I  YOUTH  I  COMMUNITY  I  CONTACT US

COMMUNITY GUIDE  I  BUSINESS  I  TESTING HELP  I  LITERATURE  I  POETRY  I  DATABASES  I  MAGAZINES  I  NEWSPAPERS

 



SWAN: SWAN lists the holdings of the Flossmoor Library, as well as 76 other Metropolitan Library System (formerly the Suburban Library System) libraries.
I-SHARE: (formerly Illinet Online) includes the resources held by 65 Illinois libraries belonging to the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois. To request any of these items please contact the library.
WorldCat: Search the worlds' largest computerized card catalog representing the collections of over 18,000 libraries worldwide. To request any of these items please contact the library. (To search please obtain the authorization and password from the library.)




Chicago Tribune: full-text newspaper articles concerning local, regional and national news from 1985 to the present via NewsBank. (In Library Use Only.)
 Heritage Quest Online: combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content. This online database is an essential collection of unique material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s.
The Community Organization Guide (COG): more than 600 educational, cultural, recreational and social service agencies that provide services for the general public.
D&B Million Dollar Directory: a business reference database of 14 million company records, including all U.S. businesses and the most significant segment of Canadian businesses. Profiles include information about public and private companies, executive biographies, and SIC codes. (Login with your Flossmoor Library card barcode number.)
EbscoHost Masterfile Elite and Newpaper Source: provides full-text for over 1,170 periodicals covering general reference, business, health and more, and provides full-text for 245 regional U.S. and 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires and 9 newspaper columns. Includes also Primary Search for elementary school research, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, EBSCO Animals, and Computer Source. (Please obtain user name and password from the library.)
FirstSearch: full-text magazine articles and other web resources including ABI-INFORM, ArticleFirst, MEDLINE, Periodical Abstracts, and Wilson Select Plus. (Please obtain the authorization and password from the library.)
Learn-A-Test: Learn-A-Test provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.
Literature Resource Center: a literature reference database containing biographical, bibliographical, and critical information on literary figures from all time periods. It is based on the online versions of Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography, as well as selections from the Literature Criticism and For Students Series. (Login with your Flossmoor Library card barcode number.)
Novelist: a guide to over 100,000 fiction titles. Very useful for finding another book like the one you just read! (Please obtain user name and password from the library.)
Novelist K-8: a guide to fiction titles popular with young readers. Useful to teachers for finding books to use in the classroom. (Please obtain user name and password from the library.)
The Roth Poetry Index (in-library use only): includes over 20,000 full-text poems from antiquity to the present date. Also includes full-text critical and biographical essays.
Searchasaurus: an online encyclopedia, dictionary and an article database for children. Articles can be searched by lexile numbers. (Please obtain user name and password from the library.)
Teen Health and Wellness: Developed for teens, with their unique concerns and perspective in mind, this database draws on Rosen's award-winning series, including Coping, Need to Know, and others. Thoroughly updated and revised for online use, all content is reviewed by leading professionals in medicine, mental health, nutrition, guidance, and career counseling.


   
  Privacy Policy  

1000 Sterling Avenue  I  Flossmoor, Illinois 60422  I  708.798.3600

 

© 2005 Flossmoor Public Library  All rights reserved.
Website designed by J. Murray & Associates, Inc.